Australasian Winter Conference on Brain Research
Australasian Winter Conference on Brain Research

Australasian Winter Conference on Brain Research

3–5 December 2021

We warmly welcome you to AWCBR 2021; this conference is New Zealand's premier annual Neuroscience conference attracting delegates from all over New Zealand and beyond. We would love you to join us for three days of world-class and varied Neuroscience.

The meeting will be held at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Queenstown. The conference will be held from Sunday evening until Tuesday afternoon. A finalised programme will be available following closing of Abstract submissions

Preliminary Programme

Friday, 3 December

3.30 – 6.00 pm  Registration

6.00 – 7.00 pm Opening Reception

7.00 pm            Conference Opening and Plenary Lecture

Plenary Lecture

Professor Margaret Morris, Professor of Pharmacology, School of Medical Sciences, University of Sydney

Title: Environmental determinants of obesity

Invited Speaker

Professor Li-Huei Tsai, Director of the Picower Institute for Learning and Memory, Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Title: Aging and Learning and Memory 

Conference Registration

Early bird Student - $195           Student $280

Early bird Delegate - $395          Delegate - $450

Conference Dinner – Skyline Restaurant

Delegate $120            Student $75

Poster Session Guidelines

Please adhere to poster dimensions of A0 paper in portrait orientation. The poster boards are 1.2m wide and 2.3m high and velcro dots will be provided at the conference registration desk for you to display your poster on the board.

Please avoid landscape orientation with A0, as this will obscure your poster and encroach into adjacent poster boards.

NOTE: Please disregard any information on the University of Otago AWCBR website as this is currently being decommissioned and a new website will be created soon.

                       REGISTER NOW

AWCBR Organising Committee

Chair: Ruth Empson

Deputy: Stephanie Hughes

Treasurer: Joanne Lin

Secretary: Simon O’Carroll 

Programme – Rebekah Blakemore

Editor – Kristin Hillman

Publicity – Simon O’Carroll 

Auckland Rep – Ian Kirk

Canterbury Rep – John Dalrymple-Alford 

Wellington Rep and Social Events – Sue Schenk

Postdoctoral rep – Kyla Horne

Student reps – vacant

Past Chair – Johanna Montgomery

Key Dates:
Monday 19 July, 2021
QRW Earlybird Registration Deadline
Thursday 1 July, 2021
QRW Abstract Submission Deadline
Monday 19 July, 2021
AWCBR Early Bird Registration. NOTE: Abstract Submission Deadline 30th May.
Friday 16 July, 2021
Major Awards Application Deadline
QRW Updates: